Dallas Attracts 500

LMCST 500 attended the 51st annual meeting of the American Oil Chemists' Society in Dallas, Tex., at the Baker hotel, April 3-6, 1960. Broken down, the count showed 392 members and nonmembers, plus 97 ladies, or a total of 489. Geographically 29 states were represented, the District of Columbia, Canada, and Mexico. R. C. Pope was general chairman, and J. D. Lindsay, program chairman. Ladies' chairman was Mrs. Stuart G. Johnson.

The calendar began with a mixer Sunday, courtesy of several firms, and proceeded through a business session Monday morning, golf tournament and plant tours in the afternoon, concurrent sessions all day on Tuesday and on Wednesday morning. The Past Presidents' annual reunion dinner was held at the Baker Sunday evening, thus avoiding a conflict with the western-style barbecue at the Memorial Auditorium Monday evening. The banquet was held Tuesday, and the convention closed with the Awards luncheon Wednesday. Various committees met during the four days, and the Governing Board convened twice, on Sunday with N. D. Embree presiding and on Wednesday with R. W. Bates presiding.

For the first time the Past President's key was given at the luncheon rather than at the banquet so as to provide the proper setting. T. C. Law, one of the founders of the Society and president in 1916, presented the Paquin key to the retiring president, Dr. Embree. This award is financed by a \$500 government bond given to the Society by the late Felix Paquin, first president.

The Bond Award, financed by a gift of \$1,500 to the Society, part of which will be invested in common stocks, was bestowed on H. M. Teeter of the Northern Regional Laboratory, Peoria, Ill., for the best manuscript presented at a 1959 meeting. In addition to the gold medal, he was also given a certificate. His co-authors, both summer employees, L. C. Dorman and Leland Harris, both received Bond certificates. The winning paper was entitled "Reactions of Unsaturated Fatty Alcohols. Molecular-Weight Distribution of Some Conjugated Soybean Vinyl Ether Homopolymers."





DALLAS COMMITTEE—In the front row Doughtie Jr., golf; R. C. Pope, chairman, and P. Cretien, entertainment; at the back are W. A. Jacob, finance; J. W. Phenix, registration; A. H. Lamb, hotel; and J. D. Lindsay, program.



SMALLEY AWARDS—Lined up in person are these Smalley winners or their representatives at the Baker hotel, Dallas: (seated) P. D. Cretien, E. H. Tenent Jr., E. R. Hahn, and W. C. Dean; (standing) F. M. Tindall, L. H. Hodges (who holds seven awards for Barrow-Agee personnel), Harry Gebel, M. A. Clark, A. L. Smith, and K. E. Holt.

Smalley awards and golf prizes were distributed, and reports on these appear elsewhere in this issue.

Entertainment for the ladies included a fashion show and luncheon at Neiman-Marcus on Monday and a trip to Everts Jewelers to view objets-d'art. Tuesday there was a bus tour of the residential districts and the Lambert Landscape Company, with lunch at the Bali Hai restaurant.

Membership Certificates Approved

MONG the many transactions handled by the two sessions of the Governing Board during the 51st annual meeting of the American Oil Chemists' Society at the Baker hotel in Dallas, Tex., on April 3 and 6, respectively, was the approval of membership certificates. These may be purchased by interested members for \$2 each.

As treasurer, A. F. Kapecki reported a surplus of \$7,997.86 for the fiscal year 1959. As chairman of the special committee on convention manual, he promised to have another draft ready this spring, for circulation to various officers and members.

T. H. Hopper reported for the special committee on by-law revisions: a) for transferring the approval of recommendations of the Uniform Methods Committee from a vote of Society members to a vote by the Governing Board (Articles VI and VIII) and b) for revision of the order of business at the annual meeting (Article XII). Active members of the Society approved the changes by a vote of 993 out of 1,049 valid ballots. The 1959-60 report of the Uniform Methods Committee was approved.

Since the charter of the Society is up for renewal by 1969, it was decided to consider this immediately.

It was decided to omit publication of the membership